Saturday, May 06, 2006

BBC Tamilosai special coverage of Tamil Nadu election results

BBC Tamil service has planned extra transmissions on Thursday, May 11 and Friday, May 12 to provide extensive coverage of Tamil Nadu assembly election results.

The plans include a special 15 minute transmission between 06.30 and 06.45 GMT (12 noon to 12.15 Indian Standard Time) on Thursday, May 11. This special programme will be broadcast on shortwave frequencies 13685kHz (Meterband 22), 11825kHz (Meterband 25) and 17810kHz (Meterband 16).

In addition to this special transmission, BBC Tamil is also extending the regular transmission to 45 minutes on May 11 and 12. These extended transmissions will be between 15.45 and 16.30 GMT (21.15 and 22.00 Indian Standard Time) on May 11 and 12 and will be on the regular shortwave frequencies of 31, 41 and 49.

The BBC Tamil service has been covering this election extensively through special reporting from its India-based correspondents, supplementing these with special interviews from its London-based team of producers. These packages are available on its website,

For more information contact:

Thirumalai Manivannan, Head, BBC Tamil +44 (0) 20 7240 3456;
Lala Najafova, International Publicist, BBC World Service +44(0)207 557 2944;

Notes to Readers:

BBC Tamil service offers daily a daily programme of news, current affairs and features broadcast at 1545-1615 GMT (2115 - 2145 Indian Standard Time and Sri Lanka time). BBC Tamil provides an essential global insight to over 2.2 million listeners in Sri Lanka, Tamil Nadu in India, and across the world. BBC Tamil is broadcast across Sri Lanka on FM via partner station SLBC and via shortwave. BBC Tamil service’s popular website, is accessed by Tamil-speakers across the world.